Hello Out There

227314_1823062907674_809106_n

 

As most of my readers know, I use this particular site as a depository for my poetry with the occasional story idea or sketch. Over the past year or so, my writing has focused heavily on verse. Life circumstance and state of mind are largely responsible for my heavy concentration on poetry; however, the feedback received from my musings plays a major role as well. For all the good folk that have taken the time to read my work, thank you…thank you…thank you.

 

I’ve taken a three-month hiatus from my daily routine of WordPress postings and have missed it to a certain degree. But, in retrospect, I feel the break was a good thing. The break has allowed me extra time to: play music, make money and, most importantly, concentrate on a new relationship. Turns out, just when I resigned myself to a solitary existence, I met the love of my life. Damn, go figure.

 

My return to posting is now a result of the same factors responsible for my absence.  Picking up the guitar after a long dry spell, I’m moved to write songs. As I do, they will be posted. Work is drying up for me now, leaving more time to write (not a bad thing at all). Again, more importantly, my new partner encourages me to write. For this, I consider myself blessed. I suspect all of us cursed with the writing disease can attest to the importance of having a significant other that supports their artistic addiction.  Having lived through years of guilt and depression for not writing, I can now see how my resulting state of mind contributed to the dissolution of my marriage. I withdrew into myself, exploding with pent-up thought and emotion with no way to get it out. I became emotionally closed as a means of coping with the frustration.

 

Thank goodness for a place like WordPress.  I’ve found it to be the most supportive site for writers in search of artistic outlet, as well as a safe place for collaboration and feedback.  It’s certainly become a kind of support group for me.  In this space I’m neither weird nor alone. I like that feeling.

 

To any reader of these random thoughts, please forgive my personal bumbling.  I promise to keep such indulgence at a minimum.  I’ve always tried to shy away from the obligatory: “I haven’t posted in a while” speech.  Oops…

 

Peace, WordPress readers, and thanks to all of you.

Daily Prompt:Bumble

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Reflection, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello Out There

  1. Wonderful photograph and article! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Sandi says:

    I’ve always tried to shy away from the obligatory: “I haven’t posted in a while” speech. Oops…

    I always laugh when I see these words and I’m like, I don’t even know who you are…but reply with obligatory, “Hey, welcome back – nice to see ya!”

    So hello, and welcome back!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Bumble When You Work – TyroCharm

  4. That’s what happens. When you’re not looking for something, it finds you. Good to see you back in whatever form it takes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hey good looking nice pic! happy to hear things are going well, although not surprised. by the corny pic you posted you look pretty a-maizing. (groan) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

