Release

316645_2113318883892_378978739_n

I, alone

awash in amber glow

safe from weight of rhythm

shed my leprous skin

Images

once vivid

now vague umbrage

tucked away in unmarked box

 

I, alone

at peace with self

contrition’s claws

worn thin at welded root

groan like March ice

sweet release of Winter’s burden

 

Grief bent heart

break faith with solemn vow

race free to Flora’s gathering

bask in the blush

ignite the crimson pyre

dance ‘neath glaring moon

Daily Post Keyword:

 Vivid

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Release

  1. The insane thing about you Phil my friend is how darn talented you are, even when you do not fully realize how much. I love your work you know that, but I wonder if you know you still surprise me with how good you are? I hope you will always write and have faith in doing so, because it is definitely why you were put on this earth, or among the many reasons. BTW where in the Gulf are you? I’m in San Antonio. xo Be well my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Phil says:

      I don’t know if I’ve have ever received a higher compliment or one from someone whose opinion I cherish so dearly. Thank you so very much Candice. Your words mean the world to me. And, I’m sure you have heard of South Padre Island. Although I’m not there right now, I hope to be back there soon. The island inspires me as does TX. SA is pretty close by (by TX standards). I hope our paths will cross. Thanks again for your kind words and encouragement. You rock my friend!!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Author Interview – C.C. Hogan – Dirt Series (Epic Fantasy/Comedy) & Singer/Songwriter/Poet | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

