Country Song

What do you do when you are suffering from a bit of holiday blues while shivering through an East Coast Winter? Write a country song! Better yet write a country song about the place I long to be. Here’s to a happy new year.

Well I’m one of the lonely

A shadow in the night

A face on the bar stool

Reflecting neon light

 

Eyes on a flat screen

A chick is readin news

Snow in the Rockies

Rain in Syracuse

 

Lord before you take me

Gotta help me make it right

Storms keep a’rollin

And there ain’t no end in sight

Tired of takin chances

When there’s no one left to fight

 

Oh Texas

You know that it’s true

The past is behind us

And what you put me through

Damned if it’s the last thing that I do

I’m comin home to you

 

Well I’m one of the few here

A stray without a pack

Chalk on the sidewalk

A ghost all dressed in black

 

Stuck on a bad dream

That keeps me hangin on

Livin the lost years

Before your love was gone

 

Lord before you take me

Gotta help me make it right

Storms keep a’rollin

And there ain’t no end in sight

Tired of takin chances

When there’s no one left to fight

 

Oh Texas

You know that it’s true

The past is behind us

And what you put me through

Damned if it’s the last thing that I do

I’m comin home to you

 

I’m too old for the white lines

Too young for givin in

Spinnin in a ditch

Of things that might have been

 

Show me a skyline

A needle pointing west

Tired of the cold air

It’s time to take my rest

 

Lord before you take me

Gotta help me make it right

Storms keep a’rollin

And there ain’t no end in sight

Tired of takin chances

When there’s no one left to fight

 

Oh Texas

You know that it’s true

The past is behind us

And what you put me through

Damned if it’s the last thing that I do

I’m comin home to you

 

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Music, Poetry, Reflection, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Country Song

  1. Phil is that you??! lol. 🙂 This is a fantastic piece. Thank your for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

