Still Waiting

 It’s been more than a month now since, in a moment of temporary insanity, I paid good money to join a dating site. The ad said I would find the partner of my dreams. Well, I’m still waiting. What on earth was I thinking? I really should have trusted the voice in my head that shouted: YOU ARE NOT CUT OUT FOR ONLINE DATING!

As mentioned in a previous rant on this topic, I’m a bit of non-conformist and a free spirit. I was careful to point this out when preparing my profile for the site. I even included a picture to accentuate that point to prospective shoppers:

12540725_10205488009590978_2570059547687745132_n

Perhaps that wasn’t such a good idea. I think I portrayed myself a bit too gregariously. I’m actually a reserved sort who requires a bit of time “warm to a person” as it were. The deluge of response I’ve received has literally scared the hell out of me. Every time I log into to that stupid site, the instant messages start:

 

“You’re someone I’d like to meet”

“Hello handsome, feel free to contact me”

“Great profile! I’d love to know more”

“I like you! Care to chat”

 

What am I complaining about you ask?  The dating site has delivered just as promised. It is truly an on-line smorgasbord of eligible singles waiting to find the partner of their dreams. The problem lies within me. I simple don’t fit the bill. I don’t know how to “date”. Meeting a prospective sexual partner over coffee or dinner has never been my thing. I’ve always been a bit more “organic” or spontaneous in my approach to the opposite sex. The crush or attraction has always preceded the relationship process for me. I should have known myself better. Live and learn, right?

68369_3989246900920_1244832001_n

Meanwhile, I wait. Perhaps I have another great love out there somewhere; but then, perhaps not. I’m learning to be OK with that. I have great friends, two wonderful offspring, and a dog that stands by me through thick and thin. Life ain’t too bad.

Keyword:Waiting

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Reflection, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Still Waiting

  1. Perhaps you should be searching for a woman with a similar guitar photo. Brrrrr!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paula Light says:

    Dating is work and sometimes it’s just not worth the effort. I’ve been trying off and on since my divorce. Meh! Thought I met someone promising last month, but he ran off like a frightened rabbit because I had a little drama with one of my deadbeat ex’s creditors. I guess it’s good he showed his true colors before any real problems came along. Sheesh. But this is what we have to filter over and over again. It’s WORK.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Phil says:

      I agree Paula. I really don’t want to subject anyone to the crap I’ve been through (and still going through) trying to get untangled. I keep asking myself, do I really want to do this again? It’s really a dilemma! We all need love and companionship, but at what price? Hope you are well and thanks for you support and encouragement. Peace

      Liked by 1 person

  3. eddaz says:

    I’m sure the right lady for you will come.

    Like

  4. Paulina Angela says:

    no wonder you are getting so many responses. keep writing about yourself in modest and humble terms accompanied with handsome pics. you come across as the perfect guy. oh and the dog, adorable. you might as well wrap yourself up in a bow. I am not single – but for this guy I could be. just kidding….maybe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

