Doom

sculpture and photography by Ginny Benton

 

He sat apart from others

At Master Doom’s behest

Cloaked in black

Of chosen few

More clumsy than the rest

 

Though born to proper station

And means to buy respect

Neath the mask

Of sullen cool

Lay years of cruel neglect

 

When called upon in classrooms

He loathed to give response

Tight set jaw

Well-chosen words

With shades of nonchalance

 

Living in a nether world

Assassin’s Creed and Doom

Tools of death

Cruel fantasies

All played out in his room

 

He rarely saw his father

His mother’s love was pills

Dim lit room

A single goal

To maximize the kills

 

All Hallows Eve set the date

The clumsy kid took flight

Dressed in black

A long trench coat

His glory day in sight

 

Once inside the high school doors

The Master’s plan unleashed

Fine-tuned nerves

His eyes ablaze

The boy became the beast.

 

Keyword:Clumsy

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Doom

  1. Had a great time reading 🙂 different style eh …
    Regards
    Advaita.

    Please go thru my latest blogpost and give me your feedback so that I feel motivated to write more 🙂 much love

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Is this a columbine poem?? It’s very good Phil!! I couldn’t think of anything to write for clumsy…so I’m passing on today😂😂

    Like

  3. Sheryl says:

    Ever the entertainer Phil. I enjoyed this one very much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

