Original Sin?

For the past couple of days, work (in the traditional sense) has prevented me from writing. It wasn’t for lack of time to sit down and write; rather, I have been too exhausted. Today, feeling a bit more invigorated, I sit down at my humble desk to pen a few words and find myself in a sea of confusion. All my creative thoughts seem to have blown away with the recent passing hurricane. Now they are scattered about somewhere in the Atlantic Ocean, and I’m left here to wait for a refuel.

images-5

Imagine my dismay as I visit the Daily Prompt for an idea, only to find the word “original”. Talk about taking the wind out of one’s sails. Geez, it was like pouring salt on an open wound. Here I am searching for an “original” idea and, BAM! I don’t have one.

article-2593711-1c8819f200000578-541_634x425

But, as I sit here trying to ponder my way out of the slumps, my mind drifts toward the philosophical. Is there anything, I mean anything that’s truly original?

For the life of me I can’t come up with a single thing that I could make a definitive argument as being original.

Perhaps there has been an original idea…  Not a chance

An original style?  … Nope

An original species?   …No scientific proof

KFC original recipe?    …ripped off from someone for sure

Coca Cola original recipe?   … hmm, Not sure on that one. Maybe, but boring…

The closest thing I’ve come up with is an argument for the concept of “original sin”; however, what constitutes “sin”, not to mention what or who committed said atrocity? That is just too daunting for my poor brain to handle.

So, I’m left to ponder these and other earth shattering questions while, simultaneously trying battle writers block. Why couldn’t the daily prompt have been “dilemma”? Oh, I did that one last month.

If any kind souls have an idea that would aid a writer who has lost his originality, please contact me. I will be at sea for the foreseeable future, but will have internet access.

Peace, and stay thirsty my friends (sorry, I’ve had a beer commercial on my mind all morning).

the-most-interesting-man-world-quotes-video-policymic-59042

Keyword:Original

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Humor, Reflection, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Original Sin?

  1. Ha! Great post Phil. Love those commercials…most interesting man in the world. Your post…was original.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

