The Visit (Part Two)

As the title above suggests, this is a continuing saga. For first time readers, please read The Visit (Part One) here.

 

I’ve been known to drink a bit in my day. Ever been blackout drunk where you wake up in a totally strange place and don’t have the foggiest idea how you got there? Well that’s kind of what this was like, except for one thing; I wasn’t drunk. Buzzed maybe, but definitely not drunk.

One minute, the six of us are standing in the yard with a shaft of light beaming on us from some hovering, round thing directly overhead. The next minute…well, I wish I knew. I remember my heart feeling like it was going to jump out of my chest. I remember the way the light felt on my face as I was looking up into it. It actually felt nice; kind of warm like the sun in Springtime…not blinding or hot, but kind of soothing.  I remember feeling like I’d eaten a Quaalude and couldn’t move. Hell, I even remember the little noise Eric’s throat was making.  The fucker was trying to talk but all that came out was a stupid little clicking noise. It was the first time he was ever at a loss for words I’m sure. Anyway, as weird as all that was, things were going to get even weirder; bat shit crazy is more like it.

I came to, as it were, with my head on Tony’s shoulder. I guess he had been trying for a while to shake me back to my senses but the sound of his voice was what really brought me around.  I’d never heard him sound panicked before and it was startling. My first thought was: oh shit, something bad has happened. I was able to focus just enough to see we were sitting on one of those long contoured benches that look like something you’d see in a bus station. I sensed there were people milling about all around us but, at the moment, all I could focus on was Tony’s face. He was pale as a freaking sheet and looked like he would burst out crying at any moment.  I was still kind of out of it so nothing’s really registering except Tony and that scared puppy dog look he was giving me. I think I said something like “What’s going on?”, or something stupid like that. He just cut his eyes to each side, gave a little shrug and looked as if he was wondering the exact same thing. It was then that I started to check out our surroundings.

The first thing I noticed was the quiet. Think about it. We all, somehow, ended up in this place together. No one seems to know how we got here or what the hell is going to happen, yet the whole place is quiet except for a few hushed conversations between small clusters of people. Maybe that’s how freaked out people act but I don’t think so. Looking back, it seems we were all under some type of strange, other-worldly influence. I don’t know how else to describe it. As frightening as our situation was, I had a sense of calm about me as I looked around the place.

The second thing I noticed was the type of space we were in. When I glanced upward, it was like we were in a dome with an opaque, lighted ceiling. The glow from above had pleasant hues of coral and blue. It reminded me of a trip I took to the Venetian in Las Vegas. You knew you were in an enclosed environment, yet the color and lighting in the ceiling gave the illusion of being outside. It was actually a peaceful place to be in. If it was not for the fact that I had just been sucked up by a UFO and deposited like a condemned cow in a giant pen that resembled a bus station. I shook my head one more time to make sure I was actually awake and not dreaming. One look at Tony told me this wasn’t a dream. He was beginning to look a little green and I was afraid he was going to puke all over me. Scooting over a bit, I gave him a little pat on the back and mumbled something completely inappropriate like ‘It’s going to OK.”   But, honestly, what the fuck can you say in a situation like this?

 

Part Three coming soon

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in Fiction, General, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Visit (Part Two)

  1. Sheryl says:

    Poor condemned cow, what can you say in a situation like that?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Visit (Part Three) | Think About It

Leave a Reply

