The Visit (Part One)

The initial part was the worst I guess. It scared the shit out of us. Well, I know it did me anyway. We were all standing in the yard of our friend Eric’s lake house. We were there for a long July Fourth weekend; away from girlfriends, wives and kids. It was a warm night, and the six of us were just hanging in the back yard all buzzed, laughing, shooting the shit, drinking beer.

I think about all those shows on TV; programs like Unsolved Mysteries, and stupid paranormal stuff on TLC. They always seemed bogus somehow. I would just shake my head and mark all those so-called victims off as kooks or crackpots trying to get their fifteen minutes of fame. Never in a million years did I think something like that would happen to me. Well, it did.

I think Tony saw it first. He was staring up in the night sky with a really weird look on his face. All of us kind of followed his gaze, except for Eric. As usual, he was running his fucking mouth too much to notice anyone else. Anyway, at first I thought we were seeing some kind of meteor. Wow cool, you know, but it took only a second to realize this was no such thing.

What began as a hazy mass of light was growing brighter and more distinct. And, instead of travelling across the sky, it was coming straight down. Nobody spoke. We couldn’t. It was too fucking bizarre. As it descended, I could see it was round with a kind of corona around it like you might see in pictures of a solar eclipse. Just as I was trying to grasp that weirdness, the shit really got crazy.

As it got close enough to focus on, a whole patterned series of lights on the bottom of the thing came on. All of a sudden, we’re not standing in the dark anymore. It was like we were in broad daylight, except the lights were only beaming in a circle around us. There we were, all kind of huddled together staring up at these lights like a bunch of kids caught jacking a car in South Central, and no one could utter a sound. We all were just too freaked out to even try to run. Hell, even Eric couldn’t speak.

That moment will always be frozen in my mind. It’s like your life is flashing in front of you and the only thing to do is come to grips with it before the end comes. I think we all felt the same way. This was it and there was nothing any of us could do. I can remember trying to bolt and run but it was as if my body refused to cooperate; kind of like those dreams where you try to get away but you’re frozen in one spot. This time it was no dream.

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in Fiction, General, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Visit (Part One)

  1. is this true Phil? Or an ET/close encounter dream? Very well written…different and interesting.

    Like

    • Phil says:

      All true! Just kidding. Just writing a little story from a first person eye witness perspective. I’ll put out another installment soon. And, actually a dream I had last night inspired it. Well, I think it was a dream…hmm..

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice! Looking forward to reading more, Phil

    Liked by 1 person

  3. animar64 says:

    True or not, I love it when people tell stories about the paranormal

    Its a time honored tradition after all

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Visit (Part Two) | Think About It

  5. Pingback: The Visit (Part Three) | Think About It

Leave a Reply

