Sharp Dressed Man

She sensed his presence as soon as he entered the room. She required only the briefest of glances to signal her body’s emergency alert system. Peripheral assessments had become a common weapon in her arsenal of predatory techniques.

A subtle repositioning of her bottom on the barstool, a slight arching of her lower back and, if warranted, a casual, almost lingering, glance would follow.

This one was a keeper. The total package…she ticked through the mental punch list as he stood at the bar waiting to be served.

The shoes, always start with the shoes, John Fluevog, check, a little offbeat, nice touch.

The jeans, cut to perfection, slim, length just right, check.

Umm, love the belt, Hugo Boss.

OMG, the shirt is gorgeous, Robert Graham, love the detailing.

Nice hair, not too long, beard, two day growth, no jewelry, check, check, and check…

 

She carefully folded her hands around her cocktail on the bar in front of her, raising her shoulders seductively, before slowly turning her gaze directly to him.

Their eyes met, locked for a suspended second, before he looked past her. Spying a female acquaintance at the other side of the bar, he retrieved his cocktail and was off. Brushing against her shoulder, ever so slightly, the faint smell of Angel cologne lingered in his wake.

 

Turning her full attention to the glass in front of her, she stared deeply into the whiskey swirls, plotting her next move. God he’s hot, I love me a man with style…

 

Lost in thought, she was startled by the familiar voice that brought her back to reality.

“Hey, what are you doing here?”

She felt the hot flush of blood rushing to her cheeks as she attempted to casually modulate her surprise. “Uh, well hey there hon, uh..I just dropped by for a drink after doing some shopping at BGs…I…”

“Well that’s awesome babe. Why don’t we stay and have dinner. That way you won’t have to cook tonight.”

Trying not to look at the spaghetti stain on his too narrow tie, she summoned her bravest face and forced a smile. “Sounds like a plan to me. Let’s do it.”

 

 

Daily Post Keyword:Stylish

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sharp Dressed Man

  1. nruhwald says:

    Wow, that was quite a twist at the end. I was really drawn into this character’s world. Even given the twist, I can’t quite dislike her. I would be curious to know more about this character.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheryl says:

    I’d love to see karma smack her in the face in some spectacular way, I do hope you write more on this…

    Like

    • Phil says:

      I’m psyching myself up to explore more female characters. In my novel one of the main characters is dead so my treatment of her is limited to a few chapters. My main fear is, because I’m male, I will not do justice to the female character. I’ve heard many male writers slammed for creating two dimensional female characters. I’ll see what I can do. Thanks Sheryl.

      Like

  3. Excellent. Loved the flavor of the description and did not expect that ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Phil, this was great! I love the ’emergency alert system’lol. It was funny, but also..sad…spaghetti stained tie and all… 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Phil says:

      Thank you. Felt like I needed to do something else with “stylish” today and it just seemed to come out. Based on the feedback I’ve gotten, maybe this character will reappear. I’ll have to think of a good name for her and a backstory. Then I’ll get to write about sex! Haven’t done that yet. I think I remember sex. I’m sure I can figure it out. Have a good evening Sid.

      Like

  5. writemebad says:

    Love the cold calculated cataloguing of the man then the shoulder brush, was it on purpose, did he see her too. What next? Oh wait, a narrow tie, ouch!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A girl can dream once in a while…i like it 🙂 makes me wonder, why would such a woman settle for mr spaghetti-stained-narrow-tie? some stories leave more questions than answers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

