The P Word (Revisited)

Today’s prompt reminded me of a piece I wrote a couple of years back. I decided to dust it off and re-post since the word’s overuse still makes me cringe. Please excuse my lack of creativity on this lazy day of rest.

 

The P Word

Word abuse, or misuse, annoys me. When a particular word becomes part of our modern cultural lexicon, its meaning or significance is often lost. One such word is passion. In fact, the word remains at the top of my cringe-worthy list.

Passionate is a perfectly good word; yet, its reference was once reserved to convey only the most fervent degree of emotion. It was hijacked a decade or so ago by corporate sales and marketing gurus.  The unimaginative clones and followers of these corporate snake oil sales-folk were taught that they had to have “passion” in order to become successful in their chosen career path.  Well, let’s revisit the actual meaning of this poor little word:

 

pas·sion

ˈpaSHən/

noun

  1.  strong and barely controllable emotion.

“a man of impetuous passion”

  1.  the suffering and death of Jesus

 

Ok, I think we can ignore the Jesus part and focus on numero uno.  “A strong and barely controllable emotion” is most commonly associated with such extreme emotions as…..you guessed it….love and hate.  For those that remember traditional English, you may remember statements such as:

I hate that motherf******r with a passion”….or….  “They made passionate love”.  

Obviously, both statements can clearly be interpreted within the bounds of the definition above.  They are describing an extraordinary level of emotion.

Now, let us fast forward to “passion’s” current position in present-day lexicon.  TV ads will tell you whatever you are passionate  about, their product will make it better.  Every less than creative job applicant will tout the passion that drives their desire to do whatever mundane job they are applying for. For example:

 

“I’m qualified for this job because I’m like über passionate about accounting.”

 

Geez, I swear if everyone had the passion they claim to have these days, folks would be running around in the street either killing each other or humping people’s legs like horny dogs.

 

I have a suggestion. The next time you catch yourself speaking about your passion for something, ask yourself a simple question.

Is passion the correct word to describe my level of interest? Is it really the appropriate word to use?

For example, is your hobby something that interests you greatly, or does the mere thought of it fill your heart with intense desire?  If it ain’t the latter, you might not be passionate about it. There are other words to use. Let’s give the “P” word a little break, huh?

Just sayin’…

Peace and Love,

Phil

 

 

Daily Post Keyword: Passionate

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Humor, Opinion, Reflection, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The P Word (Revisited)

  1. Ha! Happy Sunday Phil…this was perfect. Still is. Transparency is another word that has been hijacked. Great post!

    Like

  2. pretty humorous 🙂 it seems u can present even a heavyweight topic in a breathable way!That is an Art. I liked the read

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheryl says:

    Hahaha, laughing and actually out loud!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Might be a repost for you but it’s a first for me. Great thoughts. Now I’ll have to a bit more aware of how I use that word!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Day 75 Supplemental: The Man and the Careful Diction of Gratitude; ‘Passionate’ | manvsloneliness

  6. Great post. Love this: “folks would be running around in the street either killing each other or humping people’s legs like horny dogs.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

