Love Song

I wrote you a love song

Offered it for free

Words to last a lifetime

Lilting melody

 

I sang you a love song

Set my spirit free

Hearts in thumping rhythm

Luscious harmony

 

We became a love song

Lyrics wild and free

Power chords fever pace

Life in key of E

 

We rewrote the love song

Set each other free

Drifting now band to band

Mournful homily

 

I still sing our love song

Estinto though we be

Strings are getting rusty

Vocals out of key

 

I wrote you this new song

Drop D or C or G

Meter weak but getting strong

Illusive melody

Daily Post Keyword: Melody

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love Song

  1. This is very lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheryl says:

    I like the way you write Phil, it’s very earthy and honest. You can tell it comes right out of your life and not from spectating others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

