Things I’m Learning

Honesty to others,

A virtue in its right.

Not the final goal I seek

To self I set my sight.

 

Stoic is my nature,

A strong and noble trait.

Until I learn to show my flaws,

True courage lies in wait.

 

I freely give to others,

Their needs become my own.

Losing self along the way,

For that I must atone.

 

I dwell in constant limbo,

Tween past and futures pull.

When I learn to live right now,

My heart will then be full.

 

Daily Post Keyword:Learning

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Poetry, Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things I’m Learning

  1. Learning ourselves… Seems so easy, but in reality it is a moving target. Heartfelt poem Phil. Like the picture too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TheViperPit says:

    I really really like this poem Phil. (You can call me Jane) 🙂

    Like

    • Phil says:

      Thank you Jane. I’m really starting to like writing verse instead of prose. Must be the state of mind I’m in these days. Thanks again and hope you’re doing ok.

      Liked by 1 person

      • TheViperPit says:

        You’re welcome! I say go with it-I used to write a little of both back in the day but lost the knack for it. Your verse is great reading though! I’m doing ok & hope you’re doing well too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

