Blame it on the Moon

Phase One

Sparks fly whenever you’re near.

Everything about you fascinates me.

I think you are the one.

I believe you hung the moon.

 

Phase Two

I shared my feelings.

You feel the same way.

We’re both so happy,

Yes, over the moon.

 

Phase Three

We spend every day together.

It’s not the same apart.

When you go away,

All I do is mope and moon.

 

Phase Four

We relish the future.

Our paths become one.

Nothing is impossible for us.

We promise each other the moon.

 

Phase Five

The question is popped.

Meticulous plans are made.

There’s a breathless wedding,

And a blissful honeymoon.

 

Phase Six

Our hopes and dreams are fulfilled.

Hand and hand we sail.

We wish on shooting stars,

Under the light of a full moon.

 

Phase Seven

Our days become hectic.

Sometimes we fight.

We make tearful apologies,

And blame it on the moon.

 

Phase Eight

Nests are built with care.

New lives are created.

Sex is our savior,

Once in a blue moon.

 

Phase Nine

Routines are our touchstone.

New clothes become worn.

We reap what remains,

Under our harvest moon.

 

Phase Ten

Suffering in silence,

We long for what we had.

Anguished by love’s eclipse,

Lost in the shadow of a blood moon.

 

Darkness

Groping along,

Slowly but surely,

We make our way across,

The dark side of the moon.

Daily Post Keyword:

Moon

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Poetry, Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blame it on the Moon

  1. Funny, witty, a little sad. Well done Phil!! This is great stuff!

    Like

  2. Paulina Angela says:

    you win. beautiful most creative prompt. so touching if I could I would hug this poem

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is exactly how it can be. Well written, Phil. Thanks for liking my poem today. Enjoy your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

