Simply Magnificent

About five years ago, my life became much less complicated. I retired from a politically charged career in government, and set out on a 3,000 mile journey to the Deschutes National Forest in Oregon. A mile high in the Cascade Range, I lived on the shore of the Crane Prairie Reservoir. 230250_1815462437667_3941683_n

This was my humble abode.

As I look back on this time, I still have yet to fully grasp the impact it made on my life. Going from a rat race, cut throat, east coast life to the utter simplicity of existence in the Oregon forest made me a richer person.

224038_1815500118609_6492452_n

I woke up to this each day.

I learned to catch rainbow trout.

I learned to hunt and gather morel mushrooms that were abundant as weeds all around me.

I learned how to cook five-star meals over an open fire.

254579_1853099178562_930065_n

I paid tribute to each passing day.

I learned of the Central Oregon culture. These are a hearty folk; a no bullshit, take it or leave it group of people. I’m happy to have made some friends.

I watched herds of elk fording the shallows of the reservoir at twilight. Their calves splashed and frolicked in the water just like children do.

I relished the sight of eagles every single day.

I saw my first snow shoe rabbit.

I came face to face with deer on my morning walks with Bonnie, my dog. The deer were fascinated with my golden-colored companion. They thought she was a fawn.

I hiked on the Pacific Crest trail and fell in love with the planet all over again.

I ran a marina, renting boats, selling snacks, and teaching wide-eyed tourists how to catch ten pond rainbow trout.

I learned to live with no address.

227528_1796528924341_8266730_n

And Bonnie’s life became less complicated too.

Daily Post Keyword: Complicated

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simply Magnificent

  1. Paula Light says:

    So peaceful! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

