A Blast from my Past…

I received a troubling message yesterday from an acquaintance I have neither seen nor thought of for many years. We are not “friends” on Facebook but there she was on Messenger. The name didn’t even register at first, but I recognized the photo. The message read as follows:

“Ur such a
douchebag…..don’t act
like u have feelings u
ugly turd”

Now, mind you, I have never been accused of having thin skin. The “sticks and stones” adage was probably written with me in mind; however, this one got to me. I find myself quite puzzled over what I could have possibly done to warrant this type of indictment after all these years. Was the message intended for someone else? I highly doubt it. This person obviously had to seek me out since we have had no contact. Was it something I posted on Facebook that made it to her through mutual friends? Does she read my blog? The answer can only be conjecture on my part. I was not about to respond to such a highly charged and hateful message. But here I am, a day later, still dwelling on it.

If I can glean anything from this unpleasant experience, it has to be the impact one can have on the life of another person. Obviously, the impact, in this case, was quite negative. From what little I can glean from the rudimentary syntax, I, at some point, acted in an uncaring way. Therefore, I have no feelings. Further, considering the length of time since I last saw or communicated with this person, I must be one of the biggest assholes on the planet.

While I dust myself off from this left field assault and move forward, I vow to be nicer to people in the future. One never knows who lurks in the shadows of days gone by. Oh, and maybe I will rethink this Facebook Messenger app as well.

Peace be with you my friends (and enemies).

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in General, Humor, Reflection, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

