The Garden

images (4)

The wise old man sat on a stone bench, quietly feasting on the beauty of his garden.

A young man, approaches reverently with folded hands.

“What is it you wish my son?” the old man asks.

“I wish to know what is true.”

The wise one points a crooked finger in the direction of a pair of Inca doves quietly pecking seeds from the earth.

The young man is puzzled. “They are lovely birds sir. But may I have a moment of your time?”

“Come, sit by me my son. I will share my time with you.”

The young man sits and stares ahead, befuddled by the awkward silence.

Unable to stand it any longer, the young man makes another plea.

“Please sir, I come seeking counsel. I need to know what truth is.”

The wise one turns to look at his guest for the first time. He gazes into the young man’s eyes. “Why do you ask such a question of me my son? I will only disappoint you. Truth is but a word. Words can have many meanings. Truth is no exception.”

“But sir”, the boy implores, “you are the wise one. Surely you know the truth to be more than just a word with many meanings. How do I achieve enlightenment in the absence of truth?”

The old man points once more to the pair of doves feeding together. “Look at that pair of doves my son. They are inseparable. They rely on one another for comfort and for procreation. They do not seek truth. They are truth. Look at these beautiful flowers around us. They do not seek truth in their existence. They merely exist, and by that existence, their beauty becomes our truth. Be the beauty of the dove and the flower my son. Allow others to feed off the beauty of your soul. In turn, seek out the beauty in others. Do this my son and you will find the answer you seek.”

“There is great wisdom in your words sir, but what about facts and science?”

“That’s a lesson for another day my son. Sit with me a while and enjoy the beauty of my garden.”

 

 

About Phil

Hi, my name is Phil. I’ve managed to escape the corporate world, rid myself of excess belongings, travel the country extensively in my old Winnebago, and find a new home on a beautiful barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico. I define myself as: a free spirit, a writer, a philosophical anarchist, a poet; a lover of nature, a lover of art, a protector of animals, as well as a devoted friend and partner
This entry was posted in Fiction, General, Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

